Why Farmers Markets Are Better For the Environment (and Where to Find Your Twin Cities Market)

Market

Farmer’s markets are great spots to help you source locally for food, and if you shop at one — besides buying from and supporting a local farmer — you are helping the environment.

Local can mean different things to different people, depending on where people live, how long their growing season is, and what products they are searching for. Practically speaking, local food production can be thought of in concentric circles that start with growing food at home. Secondly, it includes food that might be grown in the immediate community, either at the regional or national level. For some parts of the year or for some products that thrive in the local climate, it may be possible to buy closer to home. At other times, or for less common products, an expanded reach may be required.

So how does buying local benefit the environment? First, local foods are produced as close to home as possible. Purchasing from local growers supports a more sustainable food system by going beyond the methods used in food production to include every step that brings food from farm to table. Sustainable agriculture incorporates growing methods that are healthy, including reduction of pesticide use, and balances demand based on local needs, involving less environmentally harmful equipment and practices. The most important factor is that growing locally reduces impacts on the environment by decreasing transportation needs.

Small, local farms are run by farmers who live on their land and are dedicated in preserving it. They protect open spaces by keeping land in agricultural use and preserve natural habitats by maintaining forest and wetlands. By being good tenants of the land, seeking out local markets, minimizing packaging, and harvesting food only in season, farmers can significantly reduce their environmental impact. Studies show that sustainable agricultural practices can actually increase food production by up to 80% while at the same time actively reducing the effects of farming on climate change through carbon sequestration.

Find your local farmer’s market:

City Location Open Day Hours
Andover 13655 Round Lake Boulevard 3-May Tuesday 2pm-6pm
Apple Valley 7100 W 147th Street 11-Jun Saturday 8am-1pm
Blaine St. Timothy’s 85th and Hwy 65 7-May Saturday 7am-12pm
Bloomington 1800 W Old Shakopee Road 11-Jun Saturday 8am-1pm
Brooklyn Park 8717 Zan Ave – Zane Sports Park 22-Jun Wednesday 2pm-6pm
Buffalo 206 Central Ave 7-May Saturday 8am-12pm
Burnsville 200 Brunsville Parkway 18-Jun Saturday 8am-1pm
Chaska City Square Park 1-Jun Wednesday 3pm-6pm
Chisago City 10656 Railroad Ave 20-May Friday 2pm-6:30pm
Eagan 1501 Central Parkway 1-Jun Wednesday 4pm-8pm
Edina 7499 France Ave S 16-Jun Thursday 3pm-7pm
Elk River 720 Main Street NW 2-Jun Thursday 2pm-6pm
Excelsior Water Street Downtown Excelsior 3-May Tuesday 2pm-6pm
Fulton 4901 Chowen Ave S 21-May Saturday 8:30am-1pm
Golden Valley 7800 Goldeb Valley Road 19-Jun Sunday 9am-1pm
Hopkins 9th Ave 18-Jun Saturday 7:30am-12pm
Inver Grove Heights 8055 Barbara Ave E 19-Jun Sunday 8am-1pm
Kingfield 4310 Nicollet Ave S 22-May Sunday 8:30am-1pm
Lakeville 208th & Holyoke 15-Jun Wednesday 12pm-5pm
Maple Grove 12951 Weaver Lake Road 9-Jun Thursday 3pm-7pm
Maplewood 1850 White Bear Ave 11-May Wednesday 8am-12pm
Midtown 2225 East Lake Street 7-May Saturday 8am-1pm
Midtown 2225 East Lake Street 10-May Tuesday 3pm-7pm (in June)
Mill City 704 S 2nd Street 7-May Saturday 8am-1pm
Minneapolis 312 East Lyndale Ave 16-Apr Daily 6am-1pm
Minnetonka 14600 Minnetonka Boulevard 28-Jun Tuesday 3pm-7pm
New Hope 8701 36th Ave N 18-Jun Saturday 8am-1pm
Nokomis 5167 Chicago Ave S 15-Jun Wednesday 4pm-8pm
North Minneapolis 718 West Broadway Ave 17-Jun Friday 3pm-7pm
Northeast Minneapolis 629 2nd Street NE 21-May Saturday 9am-1pm
Osseo Central Ave & 5th St NE 12-Jul Tuesday 3pm-7pm
Plymouth 15000 Cty Rd 6 22-Jun Wednesday 2:30pm-6:30pm
Richfield 64th Street & Portland Ave S 21-May Saturday 7am-12pm
Rogers 12724 Main Street 8-Jun Wednesday 3pm-6:30pm
Rosemount 13885 S Robert Trail 14-Jun Tuesday 1pm-5pm
Roseville 2131 Fairview Ave N 3-May Tuesday 8am-12pm
Savage Quentin & Hwy 13 5-Jun Sunday 8am-1pm
Shoreview 4580 Victoria St N 14-Jun Tuesday 3pm-7pm
South St. Paul 1151 Southview Boulevard 29-Jun Wednesday 2pm-6pm
St. Paul 290 E 5th St 30-Apr Saturday 6am-1pm
St. Paul 290 E 5th St 1-May Sunday 8am-1pm
Stillwater Third and Pine 11-Jun Saturday 7:30am-12pm
Waconia 101 East Main Street 9-Jun Saturday 4pm-7:30pm
Wayzata 301 Promenade Ave 12-May Thursday 2pm-6pm
West St. Paul 1201 S Robert Street 17-Jun Friday 8am-12pm
White Bear Lake Downtown White Bear Lake 24-Jun Friday 8am-12pm
Woodbury 2175 Radio Drive 12-Jun Sunday 8am-1pm

Times and days subject to change.

Add Comment